Exhibition | The 2015 Alberta Biennial of Contemporary Art, AGA, January 24 to May 3, 2015


Art Gallery of Alberta
January 24-May 3, 2015

Curated by Kristy Trinier and organized by the Art Gallery of Alberta

Future Station: 2015 Alberta Biennial of Contemporary Art is an examination of the creative practices at work with Alberta artists and ultimately an expression on what it feels like to be an artist in Alberta. The title is derived from an abandoned transit platform located under the civic centre of the province’s capital, Edmonton. Future Station is in reality both a physical and allegorical place of transition and stasis: part urban mythology and part monument to the banality of dormant infrastructure. It serves as a metaphor for the status of contemporary visual culture in Alberta – it exists and functions as a potent vacancy awaiting due recognition. Read more >>

Arbour Lake School, Ashleigh Bartlett, Kyle Beal, Brittney Bear Hat, Devon Beggs, Nika Blasser, Christian Bök, Steven Cottingham, Hannah Doerksen, Joseph Doherty, Brenda Draney, Gordon Ferguson, Calgary Jason Frizzell, Sarah Fuller, Jude Griebel, Aryen Hoekstra, Dara Humniski, Mary Kavanagh, Kristen Keegan, Robin Lambert, Mathieu Lefèvre, Tyler Los-Jones, Amy Malbeuf, Travis McEwen, Brendan McGillicuddy, Jay Mosher, Yvonne Mullock, Wil Murray, Brad Necyk, Ali Nickerson, Erik Osberg, Josée Aubin Ouellette, Giulliano Palladino, Evan Prosofsky, Scott Rogers, Erin Schwab, Sergio Serrano, Leslie Sharpe, Jill Stanton, Alma Louise Visscher, Adam Waldron-Blain, Nicole Kelly Westman


I’ll be showing a new piece. Special thanks to Kristy Trinier for inviting me to be part of the show, and to the AGA team for bringing it all together. Also thanks to Jim Laing, Brian Batista and Bentley Wilks.